Movie choices for a dreary day

It has been a gray, damp and dreary day in Boise – the kind of day you want to spend with a book or lost in a movie.  I’ll admit that this morning I spent my time reading and never got around to the movie.

I must admit that I’m not an avid movie-goer.  I’m one of those movie patrons who could be described using church parlance as a margin attender or a CEO (Christmas and Easter Only) worshiper.  Yes, I go to movies with others and watch a selection of their choice.  Some of these have turned out to be surprisingly good while others have been a great opportunity to catch up on sleep.

As we near the big night for the Academy Awards, I began thinking about which movies I have enjoyed.  As you read my list you will probably chuckle at my choices..but hey! they’re my choices…

So here’s my list of good movies:

  • Footloose (the original) I haven’t seen the new version.  The kids teach the adults a few things.
  • October Sky  So I enjoy a story where the class nerd wins.
  • Bridge to Terabithia A story written by an alumnus of one of my grad schools.
  • Narnia: The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe It’s C.S. Lewis!
  • Amazing Grace Don’t turn off the movie until you’ve seen the Pipers and drummers at the end.
  • Eragon Okay my kids sold me on this one.  There be dragons in it!
  • Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade Have you ever considered what kind of cup was used at the Last Supper?
  • It’s a Wonderful Life I’ve been accustomed to watching this one on tv but when I had the chance to watch it on the big screen…wow!
  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, part 1 I guess you’d have to see part 2 as well but I liked part 1 better
  • We Bought a Zoo This recent film surprised me.  I like a movie where a good fight takes place.

There are few movies I’d watch a second time, but these are the ones I’d pull up on Netflix or pop in the dvd player to watch again.

What would be your movie choices on a damp, dreary weekend?

2 thoughts on “Movie choices for a dreary day

  1. If you enjoy heroic battles, I’m surprised to note the absence the Lord of the Rings. I just rewatched them (over a damp few days in the Puget Sound area near you), and it was wonderful.

  2. “Some like It Hot”, with Marilyn Monroe, Jack Lemmon, and Tony Curtis. My all time favorite. Number two: “The Birdcage” with Robin Williams and Nathan Lane.” Adult content.

Leave a Reply

