A table for the world

Today is World Communion Sunday. It is one of the most significant days of the church year – at least in my opinion. Today I was joined at a table spread for me and others around the world. I heard the words of institution and tasted the bread and drank from the cup alongside my family in North Carolina, friends in many states, and colleagues who serve in a variety of capacities throughout the church.

World Communion Sunday becomes the day when John 3:16 becomes tangible. God so loved the world…my presbytery…my worshipping community…me and I can touch it, taste it, and remember it.

I hope that you, too, celebrated this Sacrament. I looked for you at the table and I am sure that I caught a glimpse of you there.

The gifts of God for the people of God. Thanks be to God!

Uncategorized

Leave a comment