Preaching Good News as the Great Perhaps

The issues and decisions of the 221st General Assembly of the Presbyterian Church (USA) were important and took a lot of deliberation. Just as any important decision any of us makes we will be praised and criticized for our decision. The work of proclamation/preaching continues…

I encourage you to read Andrew’s words and to consider that God is at work forming and reforming us.

Wrestling with Discipleship

I have read a LOT of articles about the actions of the recent Presbyterian Church (USA) General Assembly.  I have read a lot, I have seen even more posted.  I hit my limit last night; I’m not clicking on them anymore.  (So yes, if I were you I would not be reading this right now.)  I made that call last night and thought to myself, “back to preaching the Good News!”

…And then I stopped short.  Because that wasn’t at all fair.

What I love about my church is that are willing to speak out loud what we believe.  We are willing to imagine that the gospel does in fact meddle with our lives and views, be they social, political, or theological.  And we are willing to be wrong.

I love that and I have to recognize that for a great many people preaching the Good News is EXACTLY what…

View original post 860 more words

Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

